Wedding Reviews for Best Western Rose and Crown Hotel

Average Rating: 4.9 out of 5 - based on 39 reviews

Is Best Western Rose and Crown Hotel available on my wedding date? »

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Mon, 10th April, 2017

Morning Lisa, Just wanted to thank yourself and the staff involved in making our wedding day so special. Everything was just perfect , the food was lovely and the staff were absolutely brilliant, all my guests were commenting on how polite and helpful they were. We are so pleased that we choose to have our wedding with yourselves and would definitely recommend to others as our experience was so good. So a huge thank you to all of you from Brian and myself you were all fantastic. Many thanks Brian and Lyn

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 24th March, 2017

We would like to thank the Rose and Crown Hotel for making our special day Very Special! From our first contact with hotel everything ran smoothly. Everyone we had dealings with at the venue were very professional, friendly and reassuring. On the day the food was fantastic, the organisation could not be faulted, everything ran smoothly. All our guests were overwhelmed with the venue, food, entertainment and hosts. If you are not sure about the venue we would recommend visiting when it is set up for a wedding fair. We spent our honeymoon night in the Honeymoon Suite, the four poster was beautiful.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 14th March, 2017

My husband and I had the most wonderful day. We had our reception at the Rose and Crown and their team were absolutely fantastic, we'd like to specifically praise Lisa, Stefan & DJ Brian who were superb. We heard nothing but compliments from our guests about the venue, particularly the food and service. We would highly recommend the Rose & Crown as a reception venue. Staying in a 4 poster bedroom was excellent too! As was the breakfast!

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 15th February, 2017

Start to finish,our wedding and the build up to it was fantastic .lisa and her team dealt with our every need and were very supportive in all our decisions ,nothing was too much trouble .The food was very tasty and every guest enjoyed it ,the whole day went smooth with no hiccups ,we both feel very happy with how the day progressed and would definitely recommend the venue for anyone thinking of getting married in the future .

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 11th January, 2017

We got married here on New Years Eve 2016. Well what can we say. From the very first viewing of the venue to checking out the day after the wedding it was fantastic. The whole day was faultless. Stefan and his team throughout the wedding did a fantastic job. Nothing was to much trouble and they made the day stress free. The venue is fantastic. It's got character and charm. So many of our guests have commented about the fantastic venue. So we just want to say a massive thank you to you all at the Rose and Crown for helping with our special day.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Sun, 8th January, 2017

Excellent service, couldn't have asked for more. All the staff were very helpful and looked after us so well. Really made the weekend special and a lovely memory to look back on. Couldn't recommend the hotel more.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 20th December, 2016

Last year my husband and I had our wedding reception at The Rose and Crown Hotel. We were thoroughly delighted with every part of their service. The attention to detail was amazing from the moment we booked to the actual day itself. Lisa's organisation took the stress out of the preparation. She was very accommodating to our preferences and made sure we had thought of everything we needed to make our day perfect. We definitely benefited from her experience in planning and managing wedding receptions. On our wedding day, staff were extremely friendly and attentive whilst at the same time managing to blend into the background. They allowed us space to enjoy our special day with family and friends but ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 9th November, 2016

There are many things that stand out about getting married at The Rose & Crown Hotel - Colchester. The Team, The Venue, The Food, The Atmosphere and being treated like an individual ... not feeling like you are just a cog in the wheel! You are instantly made to feel at home and listened to. We got married in 2007! (our 10 year anniversary next year) The reason I am posting this, is because this year they held a celebration of 'ceremonies' held at the Rose & Crown. I think there was a couple who had gotten married there in 1997! Amongst us all, were some great stories of our great days. I can't rate it enough. In my previous ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Sat, 29th October, 2016

Dear Lisa & team, Thank you so much for making our special day one to remember, with no hiccups or stress. I have and will continue to recommend you and your team to everyone we know. A luxurious meal and room was a sweet surprise after a long few months of planning. 5* ratings for everything and we look forward to coming back next year for another wedding. Best wishes, Sincerely Mr & Mrs Savory

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 8th September, 2016

We had our wedding at The Rose and Crown Hotel on 20th August 2016. From the moment we booked the venue we received nothing but excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble. The big day itself was fantastic. The whole day was stress free from start to finish and the food was amazing. We had compliments from all our guests. We can't thank Lisa and the staff enough.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 19th July, 2016

What an absolutely fantastic place to have our wedding! From the time we booked this as our venue to the day itself I knew we were in safe hands. Everyone was so attentive on the night, making sure everyone was happy and it all went so smoothly. The food was amazing, we've had so many of our guests say how lovely both the wedding breakfast and evening buffet was. Could not recommend The Rose and Crown more. It's the best!

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 13th July, 2016

Well what can we say.... From the moment we walked through the doors to the best western rose and crown hotel we instantly felt relaxed, comfortable and at home. The staff were very helpful and sociable and were more than happy to answer any questions and help out in anyway that they could. Me and my wife highly recommend this venue for a wedding or for any event for that matter. We will certainly be visiting again soon. There are no words that could describe just how thankful we are for everything the staff at the rose and crown done for us and an even bigger thank you to Lisa Granthem who helped organise and arrange the whole thing. Thank ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartEmpty Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 6th July, 2016

We held our wedding reception at the Rose & Crown on the 03/06/2016. We found the staff very helpful and the venue accommodate the reception that we wanted. We opted for a more informal reception; more like a big party, we had a small late afternoon breakfast meal of just salad and a cold meat platter for 25 guests followed by a evening buffet for 80-100 guests. We had no formal table plan and no speeches, we had cupcakes for all the guests rather than a traditional wedding cake. The hotel allowed us to decorate the rooms as we wanted, they set out the tables in both rooms as we wanted. The food that we had was of a very ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 5th July, 2016

We got married at the Rose & Crown on 4th June and had the most perfect day. It was what we had dreamed of and more! The service was perfect and the food was delicious, all guest have commented on the high standard of food. We would just like to take this opportunity to thank you all for making our day so special and for making it run so smoothly. From the bottom of our hearts, we thanks you.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 5th July, 2016

We recently got married and had our meal and party at the Rose and crown. Dealing for over 15 month with request and panic moment, The Staff always remain very professional and dedicated. They treat us (and over) like if we were unique, Made our days very special. We had very special request but always work around and done their very best and more for us. I will personal thank like I did face to face the team that made it possible. Sue at the reception for her professionalism and great character. Creating a relation that goes beyond client / Staff, She made us feel very special and create this feeling of care and beyond. The Head Chef Tony was ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 7th June, 2016

We got married at the Rose & Crown on 4th June and had the most perfect day. It was what we had dreamed of and more! The service was perfect and the food was delicious, all guest have commented on the high standard of food. We would just like to take this opportunity to thank you all for making our day so special and for making it run so smoothly. From the bottom of our hearts, we thanks you.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 31st May, 2016

I cannot fault The rose and crown. We had an absolutely amazing day and it went perfectly smoothly. Lisa was amazing in the run up to our day and made sure we had everything in place with plenty of reassurance that it will go as planned. Stephan ran the day perfectly and was exactly where we needed him exactly when we needed him. We can not thank them enough for a most wonderful start to our marriage and would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a venue !

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 20th April, 2016

We had our wedding at the Rose and crown on sunday the 17th April. Also stayed the night before, Lisa has been amazing and helpful answering any questions during the planning process. On the day Stefan (sorry if spelt wrong) was on hand all day to help with anything and everything to make not just our day special but also make our guests feel comfortable. We had an amazing day the hotel is gorgeous, everything went so smoothly. The food was amazing everyone commented just how great it was. We couldn't fault the staff at the Rose and Crown everything was absolutely perfect, would absolutely recommend the hotel for any weddings/functions without a doubt :)

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Mon, 11th April, 2016

Staff were professional, friendly and amazing. They all went out of there way to make our day special. Stefan and Lisa were both fab. Lisa answered all our questions even the little silly ones. Stefan set up everything exactly how we wanted our wedding to be. Service was excellent. Food amazing and very scrummy and flavorsome. All our guests commented how good food was. DJ and Disco were great DJ made it just how we wanted it. Me and my family stayed night before and food was excellent staff great and rooms are very cozy with a homely feel. We were made to feel very welcome, which calmed our nerves. Our young children stayed and we were given everything we ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 31st March, 2016

We could not have wished for a better day, it was perfect. The staff were friendly polite and very attentive, the food was lovely, out quick and hot. Everything was set exactly how we asked, an absolutely beautiful hotel and we would recommend it 100% to anyone for a wedding , meal out, drinks and overnight stay. All our friends and family said what a beautiful day it had been. And for us the bride and groom it was truly amazing. regards Mr and Mrs Farrell

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 16th February, 2016

Dear Lisa, Stefan and all the staff at the Rose & Crown. Thank you for making our Wedding Day so magical. I cannot tell you how wonderful you all made our day. The whole experience was great, from the planning, to the room, the food, the staff, everything was 1st class. A five star service. Every time I think of our wedding it is with joy, everything was perfect. Thank you all Tina & Steve Pointon 24/12/15

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Mon, 8th February, 2016

Amazing place, amazing food , amazing staff! We had our wedding this last weekend and we are very pleased! Lisa, manager of the hotel, helped us with everything! The staff was so kind and all the time there for us to make us feel good and to have everything we need and want, all the time smiling! The room was a dream! I can t explain good enough how amazing this place is! Me and my husband we recommend this Hotel with all our hearts because is so very worth it! We could't choose a better place!

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Sat, 28th November, 2015

From the moment we went to the wedding show we felt welcomed. And all the staff were very friendly and helpful. This continued through out the process. The day it's self was amazing the venue is perfect, the staff could not done anymore. Our day will never be forgotten. Even afterwards the staff were friendly and helpful and very professional. Would highly recommend this to anyone. This is a LGBT friendly venue And my wife and I would like to thank all the staff very much for making our day special.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Mon, 23rd November, 2015

Wedding reception held at the Rose and Crown:- The staff were able to combine being very friendly and being professional at the same time. We had help from the wedding team from the very start, helping to organise the food and drinks for the wedding day, and reserving hotel rooms for our oversees visitors. We were able to set up our personalised wedding display, including the cake early in the morning for the afternoon dinner. The meals served were very good, the staff excellent and the entertainment kept everybody dancing all evening, the location, the setting and style of the reception room was exactly what we wanted. We had a splendid day and would not change anything. An award would ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 6th November, 2015

My husband and I got married here on 24th October 2015. We had the wedding booked for about 10 months prior to our day and from day 1 of booking all the way up to the day of the wedding you can not fault the service received here, Lisa was always at the end of the phone if you had any questions no matter how big, small or stupid! On the day we had Stefan in charge and overseeing the whole day. Stefan was amazing, he kept to every detail and was so happy to help in any way he could, I really thank him for this because I believe our wedding couldn't of gone any smoother thanks to him. ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Fri, 6th November, 2015

Thank you so much for all your amazing help on our Big day. We couldn't have wished for a day to go any better, every last detail was taken care of, so we could enjoy our day without a care in the world. The whole experience was outstanding and all of our guests have not stopped talking about how wonderful the day was. Thank you for making our wedding day perfect. Looking forward to seeing you all soon. Tina & Stephanie

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 3rd November, 2015

Although we hadn't set a date I persuaded my now husband to attend the rose and crown wedding open day. He was quite hesitant but as soon as we walked in he was pleasantly surprised. Despite living only a few roads away his whole life he hadnt realised what a big place it was. He had thought from the outside that it would be a tiny venue....wrong!! The space is a very nice size and the way the rooms are laid out makes the day flow very well. No standing around outside while the rooms are swapped around which I had experienced at many other venues. The staff at the rose and crown gave us a tour and told us ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 3rd November, 2015

To all our friends at the Rose & Crown. Thank you So So much for doing everything to make our day so so special. Everything was perfect and we couldn't of asked for it to be any better. We Thank you from the bottom of our hearts always. A huge thank you to Lisa for everything. Our day would never have been so perfect and gone so smoothly if it weren't for all your help and hard work. We are so grateful. All our Love Caley & Luke

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Thu, 29th October, 2015

When we decided to get married we did the usual thing of looking around venues, checking prices, visiting places, listening to anyone that had an opinion on weddings - we decided to get married "at work" as we could not fault the service offered and the budget was right. We met through work many years prior so after much deliberation The good Old R&C it was. As part of the team you always see behind the scene but I allowed myself to enjoy the day and not too worry. It was perfect - our families still talk about the spicy pepper and squash soup that chef made and the food, wine, music was excellent and the service from the team, ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 27th October, 2015

We got married at the rose an crown on fri 9th oct 2015. We couldn't have asked for a better day, we could not fault the hotel or the staff as they handled our wedding with expertise. Highly recommend to any couples wishing to marry in the near future.

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Sat, 12th September, 2015

The Rose and Crown as a wedding venue is beautiful and very unique and perfectly matched my vintage style wedding. The whole process of arranging the wedding was made easy by Lisa who always was on hand to help and guide us through the process and she went the extra mile by arranging a DJ to provide karaoke as this is what I really wanted for the evening and wasn't the usual service that the hotel provides as part of the wedding package. On the day Lisa was on hand to help with my nerves and all of the staff were friendly and helpful giving great service and making sure all of our guests are happy and catered for. It ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Tue, 8th September, 2015

To Lisa and all the wonderful staff at the R&C, you have all been so fantastic!!! From booking to planning to finding a spare bed at 1am! absolutely faultless service. Thank you all so much! Mr & Mrs Scowen XXXX

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Mon, 13th July, 2015

The team at the Rose & Crown were fantastic. We had a let down with our reception venue 6 months before the wedding. We finally found the R&C from a friend's recommendation. Lisa helped us get organised super quickly and was great at advising us on plans for the day. She really put our minds at ease. On the big day, Leandro (apologies if I got the spelling wrong!) and the team couldn't have been more helpful. We had a few last minute changes but they dealt with it all quickly. Everything went off without a hitch and we knew we could always go to the staff if we had any questions. The food and service was lovely and the ... Read more

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 1st July, 2015

To Lisa & Staff, thank you so much for making my wedding day so perfect! The day ran so smoothly and the food was amazing. Everybody enjoyed the food during the day and the evening buffet was also delicious. Our room was lovely and breakfast was FANTASTIC. Thanks again Abi & Sean Mr Mrs Dale 31/12/14

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 1st July, 2015

To Lisa, Sue and all the staff, Mark & I would like to say a massive thank you to you all for making our wedding day so perfect. From the day we booked our wedding to the actual day you were always there to answer any queries. On the day everybody went out of their way to make our day perfect. The food was excellent all of our guests commented on how lovely it was. We also had a brilliant night dancing to the disco. Once again thank you ALL !!

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartEmpty Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 1st July, 2015

Fantastic Stay here, really made our wedding night special. Mr and Mrs Hawkins seventh February 2015

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 1st July, 2015

Hi Lisa, Kieron and I would like to say a huge thank you to you and everyone else involved in our wedding. We couldn't have done it without you all. The staff on the day were amazing and you made everything run so smoothly. We are so happy we got married at the Rose and Crown and will definitely recommend the venue to others. Thanks again, Holly and Kieron Day

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 1st July, 2015

Thank you so much for making our Wedding Day so very special. You were absolutely superb. A special thanks goes to Lisa who has been fantastic from start to finish. Also, Stefan and all the team were faultless throughout the meal and reception. lastly DJ Busby was spot on. Its a day we will never forget. Arianna Etheridge 21 03 15

Full Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review HeartFull Wedding Review Heartby on Wed, 1st July, 2015

With many thanks to all at The Rose & Crown for making our wedding so special - We cannot thank you enough - What a Fantastic Day. My husband and I had our wedding there yesterday and it was magnificent. The staff were spectacular and could not have done more to help. The food was out of this world and Lisa the wedding co-ordinator was brilliant. Several people said it was the best wedding they had ever been to and we would have no doubt in recommending the hotel for a wedding venue at all. Jayne and Hugh Joseph 3/5/15

Is Best Western Rose and Crown Hotel available on my wedding date? »