Wedding Reviews for The Runnymede on Thames

Average Rating: 5 out of 5 - based on 20 reviews



on Sat, 29th of July, 2017
I chose runnymede on Thames as my wedding venue based on the modern decor and excellent customer service.

The wedding went extremely well everything like I had dreamed.

I would definitely recommend them to anyone
on Sun, 9th of July, 2017
We got married on 13th August 2016 and had our wedding reception at The Runnymede! We cannot recommend the hotel enough, the staff and facilities were amazing and the location right on the river was just perfect! All of our guests commented on how amazing the day was, and how seamless everything

Read More

went! Hannah Bevis was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble! The hotel is hands down one of the nicest we viewed when looking for venues and it really was a day to remember! Thank you to all the staff! Mr and Mrs Jackson
on Mon, 26th of June, 2017
We celebrated our wedding on 6/08/16 and it was the most amazing day of our lives! Everything about The Runnymede, from the venue to the staff was incredible. The whole team worked tirelessly to give us the perfect day and nothing was too much trouble for them. Even in the planning stages, every

Read More

question was answered and every worry was put at ease. Jenny kept us in the loop with every detail and gave fantastic advice throughout. On the day our banqueting manager Martin was outstanding. He made sure the day ran smoothly and his professionalism really shone through. The food was amazing, not only in taste but also in presentation (I still think about the soft chocolate savarin we had for dessert!). The service was impeccable and every guest commented on the efficiency and professionalism of the waiting staff. There is nothing about our experience that we would change and we couldn't have wished for a more perfect day!
on Mon, 8th of May, 2017
A beautiful location and the friendliest of staff who really cared made our wedding day at the Runnymede-on-Thames absolutely perfect and gave us a lifetime of happy memories
on Fri, 5th of May, 2017
Me and my husband married at the Runnymede on Thames in July 2016.
We decided on having the bbq , which was lovely and really relaxed. The tables were set up outside and guests went outside to get there food , by the riverside. The riverside suite was perfect.
The staff we had on hand were

Read More

fantastic on the day and made it go as smooth as possible. I think that the wedding package we had (kingfisher) was very good value for money. Would recommend to others. Thank you Runnymede!
Mr and Mrs Bovingdon
on Wed, 3rd of May, 2017
From the moment we looked at the Runnymede Hotel we knew it was the perfect place for our special day. The team went above and beyond to make it perfect for us, from the amazing food to the smallest of details. From the events department katie looked after us to the build up of our day. She was

Read More

fantastic, always willing to help and took so much pressure off. Caris was our wedding co-ordinator on the day and she did such an amazing job. The team are a huge credit to the hotel. We can't wait to come back for our Anniversary this year to celebrate.

Thank you for everything and
Keep up the hard work!!

Mr & Mrs Jones xx
on Wed, 3rd of May, 2017
We got married in August 2016, and held our reception at the Runnymede. From the planning stages right up until our big day, the wedding co ordinator and staff at the Runnymede were so efficient and attentive, and made the whole experience much less stressful for us! At every stage we felt they were

Read More

there advise and assist us with our planning, and were brilliant at keeping in touch with regular communication and plans. We had an amazing day and I would highly recommend the Runnymede to anyone planning a wedding or event!
on Wed, 3rd of May, 2017
My husband and I got married at the Runnymede on 6th August 2016. It really was the best day of our lives!
The events staff were amazing from the first day we decided to make the hotel our venue to the day we left after our wedding.
Nothing was too much trouble for them, I was able to contact

Read More

them via e-mail and I always got a quick reply. They managed our suppliers on the day and made sure everything ran on time. The day went without a hitch which made it so much more perfect.
We had a package which allowed us to have a BBQ for our wedding breakfast. We even got a bottle of champagne and two little bride and groom rubber ducks as souvenirs.
I would definitely rate this hotel as a perfect wedding venue. Thank you Runnymede!
on Tue, 2nd of May, 2017
Where do i start? From the moment we viewed the hotel to the moment all of our wedding guests checked out, Katie and her team where only a phone call or email away. No job was too big, they catered for all of our guests needs and the amazing catering staff even saved the day when our wedding cake

Read More

arrived damaged. The views of the thames and the superbly maintained grounds set the perfect backdrop for our special day. Everybody left with a huge smile on their face and memories that will last for ever! We can't recommend this venue enough.
on Tue, 2nd of May, 2017
We got married at The Runnymede Hotel on 24.6.16. I can honestly say, (and so did all the guests) that it was an amazing day from start to finish. (Slight hiccup with receptionist on arrival, but once I got into my room all went well). Emily Crouch was lovely in the lead up organising the wedding,

Read More

and on the day, Tom organised the timings perfectly. The grounds and the rooms were perfect for photos, and it was amazing value for money. I can highly recommend a wedding at The Runnymede! I would love to do it all over again!
on Tue, 2nd of May, 2017
Our wedding day was everything I could have hoped for and more! We decided to decorate the venue ourselves as we have very creative mothers and wanted to keep costs down. Hannah was so helpful with this she arranged for us to come in the night before and set up the tables. On the day Caris helped

Read More

make the room look exactly how I wanted it without me having to lift a finger. My husbands favourite part was of course the menu tasting. It was really fun trying all the food and wine, deciding what would be best for us and our guests. The morning after was lovely our guest joined us for a love breakfast (much needed after a wedding diet). We decided to spend an extra night at the Runnymede, we spent the day walking along the river and then in the outside hot tub drinking champagne and watching other people getting married. In the evening we had a wonderful meal in the lock restaurant. I can not speak highly enough of the staff at the Runnymede they made every moment and memory perfect.
on Tue, 2nd of May, 2017
I had a brilliant wedding at the Runnymede, everything ran so smoothly and all the staff were so helpful and friendly, especially Hannah bevis who was there from start to finish and helped with every aspect! I would definitely recommend the Runnymede for anyone's special day.
on Fri, 9th of January, 2015
Hi Sue - manager, We would like to extend our gratitude for all your team's help in creating a memorable day for us, especially Chris Norris. As you know we got married at your stunning venue on the 30th August 2014. Being our first time stay at the RunnyMede, we were overwhelmed. The cleanliness,

Read More

style, ambience, quality of food and service of the hotel is of very high standard. The staff we came in contact with all worked so hard to make sure we were comfortable. We had a party of 130 and I can confidently say that each and everyone of us had the most fantastic time. The hotel is beautiful and the team there are one of a kind, nothing is too much trouble for any of them. A massive thank you to Tom & his team who were lovely (looked after us on our big day) and really can't do enough for you to make the day as special and smooth running as possible. We really had no worries while they were in control. They made us feel welcome; they were polite, friendly and very helpful. The customer service was fantastic - we had no complaints at all from our guest. They made our special day so perfect, thank you for your professionalism and great service. A special mention to Chris Norris who was amazing; the very first time I spoke with Chris, I loved his friendly approach and bubbly character. In fact it really grabbed me - straight away I knew we would get on. Chris's listening skills is second to none and his willingness to help no matter how petty the task may be, is outstanding. His customer service is exceptional; even when I was feeling stressed he would always make me laugh. He made my wedding planning easy and was fun working with him. I felt Chris really understood me, we connected well and he only needed to be told things ONCE. Again nothing is too much trouble for Chris.....he is really helpful, so glad I chose him as my coordinator. Everything I asked for he went beyond and above the call of duty, he was just amazing. The hotel are very lucky to have him, he is excellent at his job! We just can't thank him enough! Indeed our wedding wouldn't have been perfect without Chris & the team's input and for this we'd like to say a massive thank you to everyone at the RunnyMede for all their hard work & help. We are immensely grateful and vey humbled. The RunnyMede is 10/10 and will highly recommend to friends, family and colleagues at Sky T.V. Thank you so much!

Regards,

Victoria and Eric
on Tue, 14th of January, 2014
I was excited to attend the Wedding Open Day at The Runnymede-on-Thames as I was really impressed by the pictures and information given on their website. On arrival, I was not disappointed and was glad when my now husband shared my opinion. We were shown around by a cheerful and helpful member

Read More

of staff who later became our point of contact for our wedding. It was really nice to have one person who took control of our special day and he never seemed to be bothered about the amount of emails I regularly bombarded him with. Nothing was ever too much trouble for him or the rest of the team at the hotel.
Leading up to the wedding, we met with another man who would be our banqueting manager on the day. It was a very smooth process and all the little bits of information about our wedding had been passed across to him which made it easier for us to discuss final plans together. He was very accommodating of all our ideas, and even let me sneak through the kitchen on the evening of our wedding so that I could get changed and do a surprise dance with my dad.
On the day, I really felt that I could relax (which is hard for me) knowing that the team had everything in hand. Our banqueting manager was really helpful in keeping us running to the timings of the day - and it was nice knowing he was there whenever I wanted to check something with him.
We had such a good day and had so many comments from friends and family saying that it was one of the best weddings they had been to - partly because they felt everything was so organised and ran smoothly. It was so nice to get up to our room and see all of our gifts and cards waiting for us - along with a bottle of champagne and a set of bride and groom rubber ducks which we now have sat in our bathroom!
If you're in two minds about whether to book your wedding at The Runnymede-on-Thames, don't bother looking anywhere else if you want a classy, well-organised and relaxed day that you will both love.
on Thu, 7th of November, 2013
Our day could not have run any better thanks to the dedication of the wedding team we had. Thanks to them, we were both able to enjoy the whole day without a single issue and the team ensured everything was set up and in place without involvement from the wedding party.

The food is excellent here

Read More

and not one of the guests had cause for complaint.

This is an ideal location for weddings thanks to it being on the river Thames with some beautiful areas around the hotel for some perfect picture opportunities.

My wife and her family stayed at the hotel the night before taking full advantage of the spa facilities ensuring a restful sleep before the big day.

I highly recommend this venue
on Thu, 24th of October, 2013
We got married at the Runnymede on 22.06.13... The service and treatment from start to finish was above and beyond helpful, nothing was too much trouble and our wedding planner Emma-Lee was always on hand to speak to or answer any questions we had throughout the whole process.
The day itself was

Read More

absolutely beautiful, staff has our room set up exactly according to our requests and requirements and all the food, (inc special food requests from some of our picky guests) came out without a problem. The room looked amazing, the food was brilliant and we had lots if comments on how great it tasted!
On the day itself, our wedding planner was always in tap to help us out with anything we needed or sort out any little problems that had occurred.

I would like to point out that we had the smaller suite on the river, but I have no doubt the larger room on the other side would be an equally great choice. The only (small) downside to this was that music had to be turned off at midnight due to a resident living nearby, and all windows in the room had to be shut- this made our room a little hot on a warm summers eve- although I have to say, come midnight, our dancing feet were ready for a rest and we were then welcome for a sit down drink in the hotels main bar for as long as we wanted!

I truly wish we could go back and do it all again, what a magical day made perfect by all at the Runnymede, thank you for a fantastic experience with memories I will never forget - a 5* rating from us and highly recommended for anyone wanting a haste free and friendly experience in a riverside surrounding!
on Wed, 16th of October, 2013
As soon as we viewed The Runnymede on Thames for our big day we knew it was the place for us.
With its amazing views over the river and the friendliness of the staff we were sure it would be a day to remember, and they didn't let us down. Vickie Mckie was our wedding co-ordinator and was so helpful

Read More

and approachable, it was a pleasure dealing with her. She is a credit to the hotel!
Our day was absolutely perfect and went without a hitch.. Banqueting manager Philip was so organised and put us at ease. All our guests complimented the staff and hotel, and asked where we found such an
outstanding venue!
We love this hotel so much, and have visited many times since our honeymoon for dinner on special occasions..
Thanks so much for making our day one to remember!
on Tue, 8th of October, 2013
Disclaimer: we are seriously hard to please and do not gush unnecessarily, so...

Finding a venue for our wedding was the biggest headache for us, but the Runnymede really delivered; the more times we visited the hotel the more we relaxed. What sets it apart is its service; from reception, to the

Read More

bar and restaurant staff, everyone smiles and nothing seems too much trouble. Dare we say, they actually seem to care. It is a family owned hotel (group) we are told and it shows.

Vicky, our wedding coordinator was so very helpful, patient and really good at coming back to us. Tom, the event manager and his team were simply sensational on the weekend itself. Had we known now how good they all were we would have relaxed in the lead-up more than we did. Even during our menu tasting the chef and maitre d' were excellent and accommodating. 100% professional.

The hotel itself is not the most impressive from the front (although our photographer found some amazing vantage points), but once inside it is relaxed, warm, inviting and well appointed. It is the position on the river Thames that sold it to us from the off. The fact we could have photos out there and then go on a river trip for our drinks reception made it so much fun and very special. The boat ended up being pricey but worth it.

Friends of ours made a weekend of it and we were blessed with amazing July weather so enjoyed the outdoor pool and tennis courts. The indoor pool and spa are fantastic too, everyone can find something to do and indulge.

The food and wine on the day were excellent (white wine nice and cold), the Grand Union Suite worked brilliantly for our ceremony (we used Chair Cover Dreams for chair covers/flowers), the breakfast and then a fantastic party until 1am and then a little more in the bar. Plus the breakfast is first class and an al fresco dinner the evening prior to the wedding was popular too.

We had an amazing wedding and will always go back and stay at the hotel with brilliant memories
on Mon, 7th of October, 2013
A stunning location & buzzing atmosphere! We had our wedding ceremony, day & evening reception at The Runnymede on Thames in Aug 2013. As soon as we looked around the venue we fell in love with it. Our wedding coordinator was with us from our very 1st meeting all the way through the planning &

Read More

there on our big day itself. Always contactable, very well organised & did a lot of the behind the scenes work without us having to worry about the finest detail. We had several meetings to get everything spot on, a meal tasting session with the chef & sampled wines! Nothing was a problem & every query or contact was dealt with quickly. The Riverside suite was perfect for our 70 day guests, increasing to 120 on the evening. The weather was lovely & for our reception drinks everyone was outdoors chattering, laughing on the terrace, watching the boats come in & out the lock by the river whilst we went off for our wedding photos–we didnt need to worry about our guests! The BBQ was cooked & served outside due to the good weather & we all sat inside to eat in our room which was perfectly decorated to my exact request. The bar inside was well stocked & lots of choice for drinks. We could not fault our Banqueting Manager who had to deal with a couple of last changes at our request on the day! He was faultless throughout & very well organised. We didnt worry about a thing! All went very smooth & he was very attentive making sure we were happy with every detail. The food was absolutely amazing, everyone commented how stunning the food was. They catered for children, vegetarians & dietry requirements-the chefs did not disappoint! We had a complimentary hotel room overlooking the river, champagne & card as a wedding gift from the Hotel – which was very modern, comfortable spacious & clean. The majority of our guests also stayed at the special wedding discounted rate so had breakfast together! We are so thrilled we had our wedding here. Highly recommended wonderful location & very happy!
on Thu, 3rd of October, 2013
If you are looking for a stylish, well organised, well run, Wedding of your dreams in a beautiful hotel by the River Thames then look no further!

We got married in the Grand Union Suite in Aug 2012 and it was everything we ever wished for.

Grand Union Suite:
Large, clean and decorated to a

Read More

high standard, comfortably had 130ish guests seated. The room can be divided up, by pulling across sliding walls, so in the evening we had one of the sections closed to create a more intimate atmosphere for the post wedding celebrations. Light reflective walls, privacy glass, a fully stocked private bar, a seperate entrance and lounge area all compliment a beautiful room and allow you a lot of flexibility. The food and service was also a high standard.

Hotel:
We got a great deal on rooms so we had over half of our guests stay. The rooms are clean, well appointed, very comfortable, with lovely showers. The hotel organised a seperate breakfast for us in the Lock Bar, which was really nice, as we got say our thank yous and good byes before we left for honeymoon.

Hotel Staff:
Phil, our Wedding Day Manager, was absolutley first class, excellent attention to detail, we literally didnt have to worry about a single thing all day, glued the day together from service to getting 130 guest on and off a boat to introducing the first dance, he was outstanding and we cant thank him enough.
Emma-Lee, our Wedding planner was also first class, made sure all arrangments were in place for us to have the day of our dreams without any worries at all. Excellent.

Hotel Recommended Suppliers:
French Brothers: We hired the Queen of the Thames to cruise between service and reception, lovely boat and great staff, if you can plan a boat into your day, do it, everyone is still talking about it!
Seventh Heaven: Linda was fab, flowers, table decs, everything was exactly as we imagined, she is great with advice and tips based on your colour scheme.

Without hesitation 5 star
Great! you are going to make a supplier or venue a favourite. But first you need to ...
Log in Or Create an Account