Wedding Reviews for Spread Eagle Hotel

Average Rating: 5 out of 5 - based on 45 reviews



Lucinda Durston
wedding on Sat, 10th of February, 2024
My and now husband were looking for a chilled-out but beautiful evening and Spread Eagle went above and beyond. We had the evening we wanted.

Spread Eagle were very accommodating to what we wanted and had the space to do this. The food was excellent - loads of compliments from our friends and

Read More

family. We also were surprised with the garden room suite which finished off our wedding day perfectly.

Thank you so much.

Review submitted on Mon, 12th of February, 2024
Helen Andrews
wedding on Sat, 7th of October, 2023
These guys were fantastic. Very accommodating to all requests, had very flexible packages and met our needs perfectly. Erica was great with her communication and being amenable to all requests.
Hollie McEneaney
wedding on Sat, 4th of November, 2023
Our wedding was everything we could have wished for and so much more. That's all thanks to the Spread Eagle Hotel. Erica was amazing, friendly, helpful and always got back to us really quickly when we emailed. She also gave us list of suppliers that are local and are used which was very helpful. The

Read More

hotel is beautiful and the bridal suite was beautiful and stylish. So many of our guests that stayed were so impressed and loved their rooms as no room was the same. We can't thank Erica enough.
On the wedding day, Richard was great, the whole day ran so smoothly and everything was how we imagined. The room was set up beautifully. They were very accommodating with allowing to set up some things the night before. The food was also amazing, we did have some fussy eaters and they even said how great the food was. We were lucky to be able to take photos outside as the rain decided to stop. They have some really beautiful areas for photos. We had use of the restaurant for breakfast, which the food was lovely and there was a range of food to pick from. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly.
We and all our family and friends had the best day.

Review submitted on Tue, 14th of November, 2023
Helen Allen
wedding on Sat, 21st of October, 2023
We held our wedding at The Spread Eagle Hotel and chose to have the 'big one' package. This meant that practically everything was taken care of for the wedding celebrations. The venue provided chair covers, table linens, canapes, drinks, the wedding breakfast, evening buffet and DJ. This means, as

Read More

the bride, I had an easy life organising the finishing touches.

Erica, the wedding and events co-ordinator, made sure everything ran smoothly and was very patient with a slightly disorganised bride!!

The venue was beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. The food was delicious (especially the sticky toffee pudding) and there was plenty of it. We supplied a cheese and pork pie stack and the venue happily accommodated this. It was lovely to be able to tailor a package to our wants, needs and budget.

The bar staff were lovely and absolutely fantastic with the children as well!!

Review submitted on Mon, 30th of October, 2023
elliott Rees
wedding on Fri, 26th of May, 2023
Best venue for a wedding!

What an amazing experience. Erica, Brian and Richard we couldn’t have asked for anything else, you made our wedding day just perfect!
Erica was fantastic and responded very quickly to any questions we had, and was always willing to help us, we felt at ease and very

Read More

supported. On the wedding morning, Erica and Brian continuously checked in on myself and my wedding party to make sure we were ok and if we needed anything. Erica was also very supportive of my husband with the set up of the room. Also I would like to thank Brian for helping clean my dress seconds before I walked down the aisle as my father stood on it! His calmness and support kept me calm and I needed that in that moment. Richard was always checking everything was going ok, he was very helpful throughout the whole day. Also, the food at the Spread Eagle was insane! All of our guest said how amazing the food was at the wedding and even the breakfast the next day was out of this world. The customer services we received was phenomenal and we couldn’t thank the staff enough! Thank you for all the support over the last 18 months to make our wedding day amazing!

Highly recommend getting married here!!

Review submitted on Wed, 18th of October, 2023
Steph Travis
wedding on Sat, 23rd of September, 2023
We had such a fantastic day at our wedding at the Spread Eagle Hotel. Erica was super helpful in helping us to plan every aspect of our wedding. She ensured everything stayed on track without stressing us out at all, and gave us ideas for suppliers and other bits to make our day special. She also

Read More

suggested things the venue could provide too to add to the decor, all of which were beautiful touches. The organisation on the day was great and everything ran smoothly, we honestly had the most chilled out day ever. The food was tasty and plentiful and there was just the right gap between courses, and the evening food was delicious and just what we needed. There were so many options that we could have chosen, and it was nice to be able to tailor our day to our tastes and budget. The cost of the day was so good considering the high quality of the venue, staff and service provided. The site we stayed in for our wedding night was huge, clean and impressive. A single bed was provided so our toddler could sleep in the downstairs area of the suite which was nice as we wanted to spend the night together as a family. Overall, we were so so pleased we chose The Spread Eagle for our wedding venue and would definitely recommend it for anyone planning their future wedding celebrations. Thank you so much Erica and the team for making our day everything we wanted it to be!

Review submitted on Sun, 1st of October, 2023
Charlotte White
wedding on Sat, 23rd of September, 2023
Me and my partner had our wedding ceremony at the Spread Eagle Hotel, the staff were fantastic and the room looked amazing, everything ran very smoothly. We also stayed in a suite the night before and night of the wedding, the room was lovely and included a delicious breakfast in the morning. Would

Read More

highly recommend their services.

Review submitted on Sat, 30th of September, 2023
Katie Bateman
wedding on Wed, 30th of August, 2023
We had the most amazing, special day we could have ever dreamed of! Everything was perfect! Me and my daughter stayed at the hotel the night before which was lovely to wake up and have the bridal team, make up and hair to arrive and me not to have to rush! Breakfast was delivered to the room and

Read More

Erica, our events organiser couldn’t do enough for us on the morning of the wedding and in fact throughout the whole time leading up to our day. Erica helped us with the planning, made us feel at ease the whole time and we knew we were in good hands with her. We kept in regular contact and had to make many changes which the hotel continuously catered to.
We got married at the hotel and Erica helped with the bridal team getting down the aisle and Richard played all the music we chose for us. The moment we were married, we were treated like royalty. The wedding breakfast was just amazing! Everyone absolutely loved the food and due to my husband being Muslim and us having a number of Muslim guests, the kitchen even provided halal meals for everyone which we were so grateful for and meant everyone could enjoy their food and we could all eat the same menu.
The evening guests arrived just in time for the disco and the evening food provided, yet again the hotel changed the menu to offer us an halal option, which was delicious and enjoyed by all.
The whole day from start to finish was just magical. It was a wedding of our dreams and the venue was just absolutely perfect and the staff couldn’t do enough for us. I would recommend The Spread Eagle to any couples planning a wedding. Not only is the venue perfect and just so beautiful, the staff are just truly amazing and their expertise and love for their job just makes the whole wedding experience the most memorable, special and unique encounter. We are honoured to have found this venue for our wedding.

Review submitted on Sat, 30th of September, 2023
Caroline Davis
wedding on Sat, 16th of September, 2023
What an amazing experience from start to end. Erica was amazing and helped us to be organised, answered any/ all questions, queries and changes during the build up. Erica was on hand at all times. I never felt like I was being a pain to Erica although worrying myself that my questions were constant!

Read More

Lol. The wedding day was amazing. We couldn’t have asked for a better venue & people to make this perfect for us! Food, venue, staff and facilities were amazing! People commented how lovely it was. Looking back there is nothing Tom and myself would have changed. This tells you how perfect it was!!! Totally recommend! Actually want to do it all again!!!!! Thank you Erica and Richard. You made my dreams come true!!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 29th of September, 2023
Jessica and Karl Meakins
wedding on Sat, 15th of July, 2023
Lovely hotel.
We had our wedding and wedding reception here. The suite was beautiful, clean, spacious and the bed was very comfy. The staff were lovely and attentive and the food was good for the wedding and for breakfast the next morning.
Gem and Dean Dunham
wedding on Sat, 29th of April, 2023
Outstanding wedding venue.
We had our wedding at the Spread Eagle at the end of April 2023 and what a wedding it was. We cannot thank Erica and the team at the Spread Eagle enough for their professionalism, support and absolute commitment to helping us make our day as special as it was.
From day

Read More

1, the support we had was phenomenal. Nothing was too much and they all made us feel so welcome. I also loved that my friends and family could all stay at the hotel, which most of us did for 2 nights and was able to dine in their restaurant the night before the wedding, which made it all extra special.
If you are looking for a wedding venue or a venue for any event, large or small then look no further, the Spread Eagle has it all.

Review submitted on Fri, 29th of September, 2023
Geri McGoldrick
wedding on Sat, 26th of August, 2023
We had our wedding reception at the Spread Eagle hotel on the 26th August 23 and we were absolutely delighted with it.
Erica was so helpful and accommodating from the start and created a bespoke package for us and our guests.
The food was wonderful and the service also.
Everything ran smoothly

Read More

from start to finish.
Myself and two bridesmaids stayed in the suite the night before the wedding and had a lovely breakfast in the room before getting ready.
Lots of family members stayed also and had nothing but good things to say.
Amazing Job!
Thank you Erica and Team!
Geri & Will xx

Review submitted on Tue, 26th of September, 2023
Jessie Gillon
wedding on Sat, 9th of September, 2023
We had our wedding at the Spread Eagle. We had a wonderful day, the staff we so helpful and kind, they went above and beyond to make it a smooth, stress free day for us. They day went without a hitch. The food was wonderful, the rooms were large and the beds comfy. Erica was wonderfully helpful and

Read More

nothing was too much trouble.

My grandparents came a day early to stay as the wedding was scheduled for early in the day with check in at 3pm. When they arrived at 11am they spoke to a lovely receptionist, I don't know her name (she had black and red hair) who got the room made ready earlier as my grandma was clearly exhausted. I appreciated it and I cant recommend them enough.

Me and My husband had a wonderful day. Any last minute adjustments were never too much trouble. A few of my guests had dietary requirements but this was no problem as there were alternatives provided . Many of my guests said it was the best wedding they had been too, with the best food and wonderful staff.

Review submitted on Mon, 11th of September, 2023
Helen Giles
wedding on Fri, 28th of July, 2023
Thank you Erica and your team for making our Wedding Day so special.
You were helpful and professional from the day we met.
The venue is lovely, our families and friends commented how welcome they felt.
We have no hesitation in recommending you to everyone.
Helen & Simon 28th July 2023
Kelly Williams
wedding on Sat, 20th of May, 2023
My husband and I married here on 20/05/23, and the day was simply perfect!

Erica and Richard were so attentive on the day, helping the wedding run smoothly and enjoyably. Erica was easily available before the wedding too, helping us to organise it, again enjoyably.

Some venues feel very

Read More

‘business like’ in terms of making money out of you at every opportunity. We never got that feeling here, the focus felt very much about ensuring the day is right for us, for which we are grateful.

The food was enjoyed by all too; large amounts served at the same time can sometimes reduce taste and quality at weddings, but our meals were so very nice and the menu has something for everyone.

The transition from ceremony, to breakfast to evening do, was seamless. The rooms are so lovely and boutique chic. Our colour scheme was embraced (black and gold). Other venues we saw said we would have to supply our own linen, if black, whereas here they again, were very accommodating and it was no extra cost. The following morning, all our things were boxed up for us to take home - this is a great help when you are feeling fragile!

Ultimately, it was faultless and I cannot recommend the Spread Eagle enough for our wedding. See you for our anniversary.

Review submitted on Tue, 13th of June, 2023
Brenda Byatt
wedding on Sat, 21st of January, 2023
We had very little time to arrange as our original venue cancelled, but from the moment we first contacted Erica, nothing was too much trouble, the day could not have been smoother. Completely stress free, so we could enjoy it. Richard and the events team were attentive but ‘invisible’ just

Read More

perfection! Thank you so much. The venue itself was quirky, interesting and having the entire function facility to ourselves made it as good for the guests (especially where they had young children) as it did for us. Even with hindsight we wouldn’t change a thing. Thanks again xx

Review submitted on Wed, 3rd of May, 2023
Claire May
wedding on Thu, 27th of October, 2022
The Spread Eagle hosted my wedding last week. Erica from events was and is just so helpful with the organisation and had lots of ideas. On the day, other than my nerves, the wedding went so smoothly. All the staff were so helpful and caring and, I am sure, went beyond their responsibilities to make

Read More

our wedding and reception as special as it could be. I could not recommend them enough. Thank you to Erica and her team xx

Review submitted on Thu, 27th of April, 2023
Roger Mclaren
wedding on Fri, 30th of December, 2022
We would like to thank Erica, Richard, Brian and all the Spread Eagle team for making our wedding day so special. All our arrangements and wishes were carried out by the happy & friendly staff to ensure us & our guests had the perfect wedding day to remember. We would also like to thank the chef and

Read More

his team for the high standard and food presentation. We would definitely recommend this venue for wedding and wish the Spread Eagle team all the best for the future. Many thanks Roger & Steve

Review submitted on Thu, 27th of April, 2023
Calvin Baldwin
wedding on Sat, 15th of April, 2023
Calvin & Kellys wedding April 15th 2023
We have just had our wedding here and it was fantastic. Erica and Bryan were so good throughout the weekend, every request was met, our guests loved the venue and loved the food. Would recommend anyone looking to get married here to go and visit the hotel,

Read More

you won't be disappointed. The rooms were lovely, all the staff were so helpful, big thanks to Richard who was a massive help throughout the day

Review submitted on Thu, 27th of April, 2023
Becci Holmes
wedding on Sat, 20th of November, 2021
Can’t recommend this beautiful venue enough, the team went out of their way to ensure we had the day we dreamed of for our wedding after postponing twice due to covid. Nothing was too much trouble and the day ran smoothly. All our guests were well looked after and we were so pleased with this

Read More

little hidden gem. We just want to thank the whole team for making our special day one to remember.

Review submitted on Thu, 28th of July, 2022
Chloe Gisevicius
wedding on Sat, 6th of November, 2021
The Spread Eagle in Thame was the only wedding venue we went to go and view. The reason for this was because we fell in love with it as soon as we looked at the photos. Seeing it in person was beyond what we imagined and seeing it all done up and decorated on our wedding day was beyond perfect. The

Read More

staff at The Spread Eagle were absolutely amazing! Bryan and Gemma on the run up and the day before our wedding were so helpful and answered all of our worries and questions within record time. Sometimes we felt like we were over messaging as I was a big worrier but they always replied within record time and helped us. Demi was absolutely fabulous on the day of our wedding. She was so friendly and made everything run so smoothly. It just all came together and everything fitted perfectly into the day. The venue looked absolutely beautiful, better than we could of ever imagined. All of our guests were pleased with their rooms and the meals. The DJ was brilliant. If we could relive the day over and over again then we absolutely would! Thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts for making our wedding day such a special day. We cannot wait to come back again in November for our 1 year anniversary meal! Xx

Review submitted on Wed, 22nd of June, 2022
Amanda Sewell
wedding on Sat, 19th of September, 2020
We were extremely lucky with our venue, Gemma was amazing at helping us plan our day which we had over 2 dates due to covid. We were married sept 2020 and had our wedding breakfast which was fabulous. We were made to feel welcomed and special and I stayed the night before the wedding with my wedding

Read More

party.
A year later we had our wedding reception which was amazing we truly enjoyed our day and recommend to all our friends. Thank you so much to all the staff and Gemma for being patient with us.
Thank you

Review submitted on Tue, 21st of June, 2022
Katie Field
Everything Went so smoothly. The whole day was perfect. We COULDN'T of had the wedding we did without the Help from the events team! Thank you again.
Patrick Gaughan
wedding on Sat, 9th of November, 2019
The Spread Eagle....what can I say,simply perfection...from booking the venue to our last minute before leaving to go on honeymoon, the team at the Spread Eagle provided us with the perfect day.Our families and friends stayed the whole weekend and were amazed by the rooms,service,cleanliness, the

Read More

food and the “if you need anything just ask”attitude of the WHOLE team, we could not have asked for more.Richard, our Master of Ceremonies, was an absolute diamond and the whole day flowed with such ease and calm that we never had any reason to worry about a thing...and then there’s Gemma...this lady will relay any nerves or worries with a simple smile and an air of professionalism that is second to none....
Thank you Spread Eagle team...what a perfect start you gave us to married life and we certainly won’t be strangers, we will be booking the weekend for our 1st Anniversary to relive some very special moments.XX
Kim & Patrick Gaughan

Review submitted on Tue, 26th of November, 2019
Andre Domingues
wedding on Sat, 26th of October, 2019
We had our wedding at Spread Eagle last October and could not ask for better! Top venue, excellent staff and well worth the cost!

Since the beginning and although we planed at a very short notice the staff were been so helpful and attended all our requests without any fuss.
The day actually went

Read More

better than my expectations and thats thanks to Rich and all staff present for delivering such a good service and making us all feel so welcomed.

Thanks you all at Spread Eagle!


Review submitted on Fri, 8th of November, 2019
Stephanie Shields-Stamp
wedding on Sun, 27th of October, 2019
Wow! What an amazing day my husband and I were given by The Spread Eagle. From the moment we started to plan with them in july 2018 nothing was too much trouble. They took the time to listen to what we wanted, and plan it in detail for us at very good price. The venue is beautiful and we fell in

Read More

love with it the moment we saw it and even more so on our wedding day. We stayed in the bridal suite which was just lovely. I would recommend this venue to anyone who will listen. We had the whole wedding day at the hotel and they way that they have the room set up for the ceremony was great and made a large wedding feel very personal. When the room is set for the wedding breakfast and party it was just perfect and what we wanted it to be. If I could do the day all over again it would be with the spread eagle. If you are considering this hotel I strongly recommend you arrange to go and have a good look around and sit and discuss what you want your day to be and I can guarantee they will provide it.

Thank you again to Richard and the events team that helped us!

Review submitted on Thu, 7th of November, 2019
Christine Williams
wedding on Sat, 28th of September, 2019
Firstly we'd like to thank all of the Events Team at The Spread Eagle Hotel in helping make our day wonderful.
Everyone who attended has told us how much they enjoyed the day and the venue.
The room we stayed in was stunning. All the other guests who had booked rooms were happy with their

Read More

accommodation.
Richard was brilliant and kept everything running smoothly on the day (I can only appologise for the late night - the guests were having so much fun they didn't want to leave!)
The food was delicious. The only negative of the entire wedding was one guest with a special dietry requirement was very upset and rightly so. I feel this could have been dealt with a little better away from the rest of the guests.
The bar staff were brilliant - no one was left waiting for long and they were friendly and polite.
The setting up of the venue was brilliant. It looked stunning and when changing the rooms over it was very prompt and organised. We really felt we were able to fully enjoy the day without worry thanks to your organisation and friendly staff.
I would definitely recommend the hotel as a wedding venue for any future couples considering it. Thank you again. We had an amazing day.

Review submitted on Sun, 20th of October, 2019
Lisa Masih
wedding on Sat, 7th of September, 2019
To all at the Spread Eagle hotel. Myself and Jack would like to thank you all at the hotel for helping us have the most enjoyable and wonderful Wedding. You were very helpful from start to finish on the day and from the time we booked, nothing was to much for you. The food was fantastic, many

Read More

thanks to the chef for meeting all of our requirements. I would highly recommend theSpread Eagle if your thinking of getting married anytime soon or in the near future. Thank you again for everything.
Jack and Lisa Masih. X

Review submitted on Thu, 17th of October, 2019
Gemma and Adam Warr
We first booked the Spread Eagle Hotel to host our very magical Disney wedding reception back in August 2017. In the two years leading up to our ‘big day’ we cannot fault the help and support that we had from Gemma. She phoned me regularly and was always there to answer my emails at the drop of

Read More

a hat. We were looked after superbly during our food tasting and it was so amazing for our guests to be able to choose 3 choices for starter, main and desert. On our final details meeting we had with Gemma we talked everything through and the event sheet she produced was so detailed.
We were allowed to set up the day before and this helped no end. Richard was absolutely outstanding as our events manager/MOC for the day. Everything was perfect from start to finish. The food, the layout, the evening buffet and our stay overnight. Kristian was incredible as the DJ and had the floor full all night long. A special mention to Vanessa who helped me massively with my dress and helping me get into the car. Our only piece of negativity would be the hayloft- we were not impressed that there was no bathroom door!!!
Thank you to all involved in our special day - you are a credit to the venue and it’s a days we will never forget!!
Gemma and Adam Warr

Review submitted on Fri, 13th of September, 2019
Davina Shirley
Myself and James could not thankyou you all enough at how perfect our special day went, you helped it run so smoothly, we didn’t have to ask for anything, the tables were all set up so perfect, food was absolutely gorgeous, not one of our guests could fault anything, they were all so overwhelmed

Read More

at how great the whole venue was, we cannot thank you enough for everything .

Thank you so much,

Davina and James Shirley

Review submitted on Fri, 6th of September, 2019
Claire Marney
After attending our friends wedding at The Spread Eagle there was no other place we wanted ours. For 19 months the whole events team and other hotel staff were so helpful. They all made our day run smoothly with no hiccups. Honestly cannot thank them all enough. All our guests said how amazing the

Read More

food was and how it all run smoothly. Nothing was too much trouble for us and our guests. Well done to you all

Review submitted on Wed, 28th of August, 2019
Regan Parke
We could not have been happier with our experience at The Spread Eagle! We worked with Jen leading up to the big day, and she was super attentive. Since we were planning our wedding from overseas, we were so grateful for her patience with us and our endless emails each time we thought of new

Read More

questions. On our wedding day, we got the privilege of having Richard as our master of ceremonies, and he was absolutely wonderful. Richard and the entire team at The Spread Eagle that day made everything run more smoothly than we could have imagined. We received so many compliments on how nice the venue was, how delicious the food was, and how much fun our guests had. The American guests were particularly charmed by this quintessentially English hotel. Our wedding was absolutely perfect and we're so glad we got the opportunity to hold it at The Spread Eagle!

Review submitted on Wed, 7th of August, 2019
Derek and louise
Thank you for giving us an amazing day, it went very and everyone had a great time.
A big special thanks Gemma, Jenny and Richard and Bryan and the rest of the team at the Spread Eagle.

Many thanks
From Derek and Louise
Lucy marriott
We had been to a few places last year to choose our venue for our special day, we decided on The Spread Eagle Hotel, all the staff are very helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them, they are always happy to answer any questions you may have. We went for our taster evening, the food was

Read More

delicious, we chose three starters, mains and deserts and gave our guests choices, this went down very well with our guests, everybody said how lovely the food was, I agree, it was really nice. All staff were very efficient on the big day, I can honestly say I cannot fault anything at all, we were very pleased with everything. The rooms are lovely and clean and make you feel at home. Sending big thanks to ALL the staff, special thanks to Gemma, Jen, Richard and the staff at reception (so sorry, I didn't actually take note of their names) would highly recommend The Spread Eagle Hotel for a perfect wedding venue, thanks again.


Review submitted on Sat, 27th of July, 2019
Clive & Simon Field
wedding on Fri, 12th of July, 2019
What can we say about the Spreadeagle Hotel? Incredible from start to finish. From our initial meeting with Amanda, our communications and planning with Gemma and our special day everything was simply perfection. Nothing was ever any trouble, the entire team including Bryan, Gemma, Richard and

Read More

Amanda are simply outstanding and brought together everything we wanted and more. Our expectations were totally exceeded and we would highly recommend everyone to choose this venue. We loved it, our wedding party loved it and our guests didn't want to leave. Thank you Spreadeagle Hotel for making our dreams come true. We really have made some friends for life now xx

Review submitted on Fri, 26th of July, 2019
Jenny Maule
wedding on Sat, 1st of June, 2019
Hi Gemma / Jenny

I just wanted to say a huge thank you for all the organising you did on Saturday. It was such a super day!

Can I also say a special and really big thank you to Richard, on the day he was so flexible and kind, it really made the day. I'm afraid the next morning I had to rush

Read More

away and couldn't say how grateful I was for all that he did.

We had such fun on Saturday and really appreciated Richard opening the bar earlier and adjusting time scales to suit the weather and the footy crowd!

We're still on cloud nine - thank you so much!

I cannot recommend the Spread Eagle highly enough!

Kind regards

Jenny

Review submitted on Tue, 4th of June, 2019
Claire Spooner
Had our wedding here last Saturday, 25th November 2017! It was fantastic and we had such an amazing day! The Food was wonderful and all of the guests agreed and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The DJ, Krustian, was also excellent! Thank you Amanda for all your help in making it a day to remember

Read More

for us and all our guests ????

Review submitted on Fri, 8th of December, 2017
Stuart Blaik
We celebrated our very special day on Saturday 28th October 2017, the whole day spent at the Spread Eagle.

Civil Ceromany, Wedding Breakfast, Evening Party all just first class.
Amanda and Richard made everything run like clock work, the Chef and his team provided beautiful food and the

Read More

housekeeping staff presented lovely clean rooms. All the staff that worked on Saturday were delightful, helpful and had a lovely sense of humour too! nothing was too much bother!

I cant fault the Spread Eagle at all, everything that we asked for they delivered.

Just brilliant!


Review submitted on Mon, 30th of October, 2017
Stacey and alex cairns
I actually cannot put into words how amazing our wedding was at the spread eagle.. Amanda and Richard are truly one in a million and could not have been more helpful.. our wedding was perfect from start to finish and it's all thanks to them. I was overwhelmed with the support they gave us and made

Read More

us feel so calm and we didn't need to worry about anything. The food was delicious and everyone of my guests loved it and commented on how Good it was. I just wish we could do it all again. I couldn't recommend the spread eagle enough for a wedding venue..
Lots of love
Mr and Mrs Cairns

Review submitted on Fri, 18th of August, 2017
Catherine & Phill
Thank you for all of your hard work and efforts in organising what was an absolutely perfect Wedding day.

We are so thankful that we chose the Spread Eagle- you were just fabulous
Ailsa and Will Pearson
Thank you so much for everything you did for Ailsa and Will's Wedding party on Saturday night. It was a great success and we all enjoyed it. Ailsa and Will were over the moon about the party:it was everything they had wanted and more. They both had a fantastic time.

There were several really high

Read More

points: so many commented on the food: it was really excellent and everything we had hoped for. Thanks to all the Spread Eagle staff involved.

Than you too for your advice about the DJ and florist. Again they were absolutely brilliant.

I will certainly be recommending the Spread Eagle to friends and family who didn't experience it for themselves, if ever they need a venue for an event. It was fantastic!

Review submitted on Tue, 10th of March, 2015
James and Julie O'Day
We would like to thank you all for all the planning running up to the Wedding and giving us a beautiful Wedding reception. All of our guests said how much they enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We had a day that was finished off by the staff and smooth running of a great team.

Many thanks for a

Read More

day we won't forget for all of the right reasons

Review submitted on Tue, 10th of March, 2015
Kerry B
We held our wedding here in August this year and could not have picked a more perfect place.
From the moment we viewed we knew it was for us. With many children coming the venue was perfect as the garden area is quite private with no traffic (there is a car park but its so quiet you don't notice).

Read More

The room which is huge can be split into two so we had half the room for the service itself (for over 100 people) and the other half of the room was made up ready for the evening do all ready. We had drinks reception in the main bar and garden area. Everything went perfectly during the day and that was all thanks to the amazing team at The Spread Eagle. Amanda and the team could not have been more helpful and though we couldn't afford a massive do, they never made us feel that we were doing it on the cheap (which we were to be fair!) and treated us like royalty throughout.
I seriously cannot recommend this place highly enough. My only niggle is that the day went way too quickly and wish I could do it all again!
Thank you The Spread Eagle

Review submitted on Thu, 4th of September, 2014
Kirsty Grolimund
The Spread Eagle Hotel was a fantastic choice for our wedding reception last April (2012). We wanted a venue that suited our taste in decor (eclectic and chic) but still felt relaxed and not at all stuffy, that delivered great food and importantly was great value-for-money - The Spread Eagle and

Read More

the team could not be faulted in any of these aspects.

Being England, you never now what the weather will be like hence why we wanted a venue that had a lot of indoor space for our guests in case the heaven's opened (which they did!). On a practical side there was plenty of parking for guests and the alcohol was also very keenly priced - unlike some weddings we have been to!

The care and attention provided by Jen and the team was fantastic throughout, from our initial meeting, to coming up with ideas to the final execution on the day nothing was too much trouble and they they were professional, yet extremely friendly and approachable at all times - it took a lot of the stress out of it to be honest! Even minor last minute changes and requests didn't phase them and they did everything to make the day a success.

On the day, Richard was our Master of Ceremonies and did an amazing job of taking on board all that we wanted and making it happen, seamlessly and seemingly without effort - we couldn't have been more happy with the reception and the food was delicious. In fact, lots complimented it and one couple even said it was better than at their wedding at another venue (high praise indeed!).

We had the Hayloft for our wedding night and it was very comfortable and had the 'wow' factor. Guests that stayed in the hotel also praised the rooms and the lovely breakfast in the morning in our reserved area.

We honestly couldn't thank the team enough and we would seriously recommend this venue to couples who want a relaxed yet elegant venue, a professionally run (and stress-free!) event and with beautiful, tasty food to boot.

Thank you!

Review submitted on Mon, 10th of June, 2013
Linsey Jones (nee Knights)
I had my wedding at the Spread Eagle on the 8th September 2012 and it was perfect!

I had searched every venue in Oxfordshire for a venue that was boutique in style but was big enough to accommodate our lage wedding (150 guests to the day). I stumbled across the Spread Eagle whilst searching the

Read More

internet, and as soon as I saw it I knew it was for us.

Jenny was our wedding coordinator and she did everything in her power to help make our day really special. We had regular communication by phone and email and quite a few meetings prior to the big day to tie up all the loose ends. The hotel even invested in a bamboo fence to sheild the garden area from the car park at my request, they really did bend over backwards to help.
We had a delicious menu tasting - the food was so good it made it really had to decide on our final menu. The hotel was really flexible and enabled us to have a menu where our guests could choose from 3 options before hand. Everyone commented on how good the food was, from the giant canapes (we had mini burgers, sausages etc) to the wedding breakfast and the hog roast in the evening, which was lovely feedback to receive.

All the staff on the day were fantastic, Richard our MC was brilliant and all the waiting and bar staff were great too.

Most of the rooms at the hotel have been refurbished ina chic style and they are done to a really high standard. The other rooms are more traditional and not to my taste but some of our guests stayed in these rooms and still really enjoyed their time. The bridal suite - the Hay loft is gorgeous and very spacious!

If you want a classy, sophisticated wedding then the Spread Eagle is a great venue and worth a look.



Review submitted on Mon, 25th of March, 2013
Great! you are going to make a supplier or venue a favourite. But first you need to ...
Log in Or Create an Account